Were You Accused Of Child Molestation In Tallahassee?
If you’ve been charged with child molestation, it’s imperative that you speak with a highly trained sex crime lawyer as soon as possible. Florida has some of the strictest laws in the nation, and a conviction will have a devastating impact on your future and reputation. Working with an experienced Tallahassee child molestation defense lawyer is the best way to ensure you have the aggressive defense you need to fight these serious charges.
Child Molestation Laws And Penalties
Child molestation, sometimes referred to as lewd and lascivious molestation, is the crime of intentionally touching the breasts, buttocks, or genitals of a child under the age of 16 in a sexually suggestive manner. Child molestation charges will also be filed for forcing or enticing a child to touch the offender. In 2005, Gov. Jeb Bush signed a law imposing tougher penalties for convicted child molesters, giving Florida one of the strictest laws in the nation.
If you are convicted of child molestation in Tallahassee, you can expect to face the following penalties:
- Molesting a child under the age of 12: mandatory sentence of 25 years to life in prison, and once released from prison, you will be required to wear a satellite tracking device for life
- Molesting a child between the ages of 12 and 15: up to 15 years in prison and satellite tracking only during probation
- The offender is under 18 but molests a child under 12: up to 15 years in prison
- The offender is under 18 but molests a child that is between the ages of 12 and 15: up to 5 years in prison
Contact An Experienced Child Molestation Defense Lawyer
These strict laws and penalties only increase the need for a skilled Tallahassee child molestation attorney. Not only do you stand to face long-term prison sentences, but your reputation is also on the line. We’ve seen many people whose lives have been destroyed by a child molestation accusation, so much so that they were forced to move out of the area.
At the law offices of Jansen & Davis, P.A., we understand the toll a child molestation charge or accusation can take on our clients’ lives and are committed to doing whatever it takes to ensure our clients walk away from this experience with their rights, freedom and reputations intact.
If you’re looking for dedicated representation against your charges, contact Jansen & Davis, P.A., for a free consultation. Call 850-641-8739 to get started.