Defense For A First-Time DUI Charge In Florida
Driving under the influence, or DUI, is a type of criminal charge that should not be taken lightly. Drunk driving charges in Tallahassee are fairly common occurrences, putting everyday people at risk for making this mistake. Simply having a few drinks with coworkers and then getting behind the wheel can potentially put your future at stake.
At Jansen & Davis, P.A., our Tallahassee DUI lawyers have handled more than 25,000 cases. We are well-versed in Florida drunk driving law and will go above and beyond to build a compelling case on your behalf. Finding the right attorney can mean the difference between walking away with a clean slate and being convicted. Immediately after a DUI arrest for your first time, you should not hesitate in putting our award-winning defense on your side.
We’re ready to hear from you. Call 850-641-8739 today to begin discussing your legal options.
What Are The First Offense DUI Penalties In Florida?
For many people, a DUI can come as a surprise. They seem fine to drive and do not appear to be impaired. Tallahassee law enforcement might disagree and run various tests to help them make a decision. In a DUI case, the penalties may be harsher than many people realize. It is a common conviction, but that does not mean it’s not severe.
For a first conviction, the penalties can include:
- Probation for up to a year
- Impoundment of your vehicle for 10 days
- 50 hours of community service
- Fine of $500-$1,000 ($1,000-$2,000 if the BAL is .15 or above, or if there is a minor in the vehicle)
- Up to six months in jail (or as much as 9 months in jail for a BAL of .15 or if there is a minor in the vehicle)
Facing Your First DUI Charge? Get A Tallahassee DUI Attorney On Your Side.
Under Florida Statutes 316.193, DUI is defined as the impairment of normal functions or a BAL of 0.08 or more. If you are charged with this offense, you will face the above penalties, in addition to a mark on your record. This information is open to the public and can also be accessed by future employers and other professionals. The best option is to fight the charge altogether, but if you are unable to have it dropped, you can also seek a reduction in penalties. Our firm is highly experienced in DUI law and knows what it takes to keep your penalties at a minimum.
Contact us today for a free case evaluation if you are facing charges for your first DUI offense in Florida. Call 850-641-8739 to discuss your options.