Arrested For Drunk Driving?
Call A Proven Tallahassee DUI Attorney
Each year, thousands of people are arrested for drunk driving in Florida. The seriousness of this crime cannot be overestimated and is reflected in the penalties that convicted offenders experience. If you are facing DUI charges, it is imperative that you take action immediately.
A DUI conviction can impact your future for years. Having experienced legal representation from a qualified Tallahassee DUI defense attorney at Jansen & Davis, P.A., will help protect your personal freedom and the rights you deserve. The team at Jansen & Davis, P.A., is ready to craft your defense the moment you retain our services. There are many reasons why you can benefit from the legal aid that is offered at our firm.
Why people choose Jansen & Davis, P.A.:
- 24/7 availability for clients
- Free consultations
- Award-winning defense
- Representation backed by more than 70 years of experience
- Attorney with an AV Preeminent peer-review rating* through Martindale-Hubbell
Our Firm’s Defense Approach
We take the time to approach each case methodically and resourcefully. By leaving no stone unturned, our team can confidently prepare the most effective defense for your charges. Strict Florida laws are in place to punish DUI violators severely in an attempt to deter them from future drunk driving offenses.
Individuals choosing to represent themselves during court proceedings are far more likely to lose their driving privileges as a result of a DUI conviction. If you have been arrested and charged with DUI in Tallahassee, our team will work closely with you to help determine the best possible defense for your case.
Understanding Florida’s DUI Laws
First-time offenders often assume that they can go without legal counsel – after all, it’s just a drunk driving conviction, right? Unfortunately, this could not be further from the truth. Such a conviction often carries a social stigma, and perpetrators may find it hard to obtain employment or experience the same level of trust from others that they once did. Our team is here to aggressively defend your reputation.
We are capable of assisting you in any of the following matters related to DUI charges:
- DMV hearings
- Underage DUI
- Federal DUI charges
- DUI with accident or injuries
- Second, third or fourth DUI arrest
- DUI arrests involving drugs
- Driving with a suspended license
- License revocation
- Reckless driving
- Student conduct codes
Florida DUI Penalties
Florida enforces strict DUI laws in order to discourage drivers from committing such an offense. The penalties of a DUI conviction can include:
- Up to one year in jail
- Up to $5,000 in fines
- License suspension
- Mandatory interlock ignition device (IID)
- Community service
- Alcohol or drug counseling
Our DUI defense attorneys have the knowledge necessary to help get your charges reduced or dismissed.
For many people, a DUI allegation is their first serious interaction with law enforcement. Concerns about your freedom, your finances and your future are normal. What you need now are answers. Jansen & Davis, P.A., is a boutique criminal defense firm, and the attorneys of the firm have over 50 years of combined legal experience and thousands of successful cases to their name. At your first consultation, we can get into the specifics, but for now, let us start with common questions.
What should I expect from a first-time DUI?
Your defense begins the moment the police pull you over. You will be put under arrest and made subject to sobriety testing. The first moment you can, ask for an attorney. You will need to undergo initial arraignment, hearings and possibly trial. If found guilty, the court will not care if you have an otherwise clean record. You will face expensive fees, suspended licensure and possible jail time. Begin working with an attorney as soon as you can to ensure you are treated fairly.
Is there any way to fight a DUI charge?
There are many reasons you may choose to fight a DUI charge and many ways to pursue an effective defense. For instance, there may have been an issue with the sobriety testing in your case. Or perhaps the police may have unlawfully pulled you over. The attorneys of Jansen & Davis, P.A., will pursue a personally crafted legal strategy tailored to your unique case.
What happens if someone was hurt as a result of drunk driving?
Injuries are considered an “aggravating factor,” along with other things like property damage. In these cases, the corresponding punishments are higher and can mean additional criminal charges as well. These cases are particularly serious, and require experienced counsel from a proven lawyer.
Will I lose my license after a DUI conviction?
It is possible. A first-time DUI conviction could mean at least 180 days without a license. This increases substantially if you have repeat DUIs.
Can a DUI hurt my education or job prospects?
Yes. Many people face enormous scrutiny after a DUI conviction. For established workers, the time away from work alone can be enough to jeopardize their job. For students and younger persons, a conviction can mean they lose scholarships, financial aid or other college prospects. It can also derail or destroy a once-bright career path.
What do I do after I’m pulled over for drunk driving?
Exercise your Miranda rights. Do not say anything to the police. Instead, comply with any requests to take field sobriety tests, and request a lawyer as soon as you have the chance. One misstep could result in police having more evidence against you, so you always want legal representation by your side to protect your rights. Call us at 850-641-8739 for trusted legal advice.
What is BAC and how does it affect a DUI?
BAC stands for blood alcohol content. If an officer pulls you over and your BAC is at or above .08%, you can be arrested for driving while intoxicated. For minors, anything at or above .02% is considered illegal.
How many drinks does it take to reach the legal limit?
While there are online BAC calculators, it is impossible to say for sure how many drinks it takes. No two people are the same and everyone reacts to alcohol differently. If you’re unsure, it is always best to exercise too much caution, rather than not enough.
Can you refuse to take a chemical test?
Technically yes, however, Florida has an implied consent law which means that every time you get in your car, you are agreeing to take a chemical test if pulled over. Should you refuse, your license will be automatically suspended for at least one year.
What happens if the officer didn’t read me my Miranda Rights?
If your rights are not read, your case will most likely not be dismissed. Failure to read Miranda rights impacts the statements you give to the officer, not concrete evidence, such as chemical tests.
Florida DMV Hearings
One of the most common reasons your driver’s license can be suspended is because of a drunk driving arrest. Before the suspension actually takes effect, you may be required to attend an administrative hearing. This hearing is your chance to challenge your arrest and try to get your license back.
The last thing you want is for your license to be suspended based on unlawful charges. The administrative hearing is the most effective place to ensure that this doesn’t happen and our firm is committed to working tirelessly for you every step of the way.
What can you expect at your administrative hearing?
This hearing occurs not long after the arrest occurred and includes the arrested individual, their legal counsel, and the DMV. The driver is given the opportunity to present evidence challenging the circumstances of their arrest.
Each piece of evidence should work to dispute the following:
- Did the police officer have probable cause to pull the driver over?
- Did the arrest occur under lawful circumstances?
- Was the driver informed of their rights?
- Was the chemical test properly administered?
Along with evidence, the driver can also present testimony and witnesses to further their cause. An attorney can carefully develop the case on behalf of the driver and convince the DMV hearing officer that the charges should be dismissed.
Contact A DUI Lawyer Near You
Regardless of the circumstances surrounding your DUI, you should not hesitate to put Jansen & Davis, P.A., on your side. For more than 70 years combined, our Tallahassee DUI lawyers have been protecting the driving privileges of those facing DUI charges – should you choose to hire the legal services offered at our firm, you can trust that your case is in good hands.
*AV®, AV Preeminent®, Martindale-Hubbell Distinguished and Martindale-Hubbell Notable are certification marks used under license in accordance with the Martindale-Hubbell certification procedures, standards and policies. Martindale-Hubbell® is the facilitator of a peer review rating process. Ratings reflect the anonymous opinions of members of the bar and the judiciary. Martindale-Hubbell® Peer Review Ratings™ fall into two categories — legal ability and general ethical standards.