Are You Facing Underage DUI Charges In Tallahassee?
In the state of Florida it is against the law for anyone under the age of 21 to drive under the influence of drugs or alcohol. Florida employs a zero-tolerance policy when it comes to underage drinkers, and any underage person found to be driving with alcohol present in their system will face criminal charges.
If you or someone you love has been charged with underage DUI, you will need to seek representation from a skilled Tallahassee DUI attorney at Jansen & Davis, P.A.. A lawyer from our firm will be able to handle your underage DUI case in an effective, efficient manner to ensure optimal results.
Understanding The Florida Law
It is illegal for any person under 21 years of age to consume alcoholic beverages, however the illegal blood alcohol content for underage people is set at .02 percent, not 0 percent. This allows underage drivers to consume small amounts of medication that contains alcohol without the fear of losing their license or facing criminal charges.
If a person under 21 is stopped by a police officer under suspicion of DUI, a breath or blood test may be issued to determine their blood alcohol content (BAC). If their BAC is at or over .02 percent, they can lose their license for 6 months or longer depending upon how high their BAC was over the legal limit.
Tallahassee Underage DUI Attorney
At the law offices of Jansen & Davis, P.A., our attorneys represent underage people who have been charged with underage DUI in Tallahassee. It is very important that underage people have adequate legal support in situations such as these to minimize the effects of such a charge on their futures. A criminal conviction at this young age could bring serious repercussions, and you will want to avoid this at all costs.
For help with underage DUI charges, reach out to a Tallahassee DUI lawyer at Jansen & Davis, P.A.. Call us at 850-641-8739 to schedule your free consultation.