First DUI Charges in Florida
Defense from a Tallahassee DUI Attorney
Driving under the influence, or
DUI, is a type of criminal charge that should not be taken lightly. Drunk
driving charges are fairly common occurrences, putting everyday people
at risk for making this mistake. Simply having a few drinks with coworkers
and then getting behind the wheel can potentially put your future at stake.
Penalties for a First DUI Offense
For many people, a DUI can come as a surprise. They seem fine to drive
and do not appear to be impaired. An officer might disagree and run various
tests to help them make a decision. In a DUI case, the penalties may be
harsher than many people realize. For a first conviction, the penalties
Fine of $500-$1,000.
- This increases to $1,000-$2,000 if the BAL is .15 or above, or if there
is a minor in the vehicle.
Up to six months in jail.
- This is increased to as much as 9 months in jail for a BAL of .15 or if
there is a minor in the vehicle.
- Probation for up to a year.
- Impoundment of vehicle for 10 days.
- 50 hours of community service.
Get a Tallahasee DUI Attorney on Your Side
Under 316.193 of the Florida Statutes, DUI is defined as the impairment
of normal functions or a BAL of .08 or more. If you are charged with this
offense, you will face the above penalties, in addition to a mark on your
record. This information is open to the public and can also be accessed
by future employers and other professionals. The best option is to fight
the charge altogether, but if you are unable to have it dropped, you can
also seek a reduction in penalties. Our firm is highly experienced in
DUI law and knows what it takes to keep your penalties at a minimum.