DUI Penalties in Florida

How Our Tallahassee DUI Lawyers Can Help

Jansen and Davis, P.A. is a Tallahassee based law firm that is known for their aggressive approach in defending clients that are charged with a DUI. In the state of Florida, you can be charged with a DUI for having a blood alcohol level of 0.08% or higher. Additionally, if you are operating a vehicle, you have given consent to blood, breath or urine tests for drugs or alcohol.

The fight to avoid conviction on a DUI will require the assistance of a highly skilled DUI defense attorney. Mr. Jansen is a former Chief Trial Counsel for the Secretary of State of Florida, and is a well-respected and highly accomplished attorney, who has now turned his legal talents to protecting the rights of defendants.

There are many consequences ahead if you are convicted. Each case has unique circumstances and evidence, but generally the penalties for a DUI are as follows:

First DUI

  • Jail: up to 6 – 9 months
  • Fines: up to $2,000
  • License suspension: 180 days to 1 year
  • Ignition Interlock Device installation

Second DUI

  • Jail: up to 1 Year
  • Fines: up to $4,000
  • License suspension: 1 – 5 years
  • Ignition Interlock Device installation

Third DUI

  • Jail: up to 1 year
  • Fines: up to $5,000
  • License suspension: 2 – 10 years
  • Ignition interlock device installation

Felony DUI Charges in Tallahassee

Cases involving DUI accidents, especially with injuries or fatalities, are penalized even more heavily. Young drivers face a "zero tolerance" policy, and will be facing legal trouble if 0.02% BAC registers, and commercial drivers are restricted to driving below 0.04% BAC. There are heavy consequences for commercial drivers, including the loss of a commercial license, ending their ability to earn a living. Each case is different, but a DUI charge is not a minor offense.

Our dedicated and aggressive team will help you understand all of the penalties involved in the face of a DUI conviction. Some of these consequences include suspension of your driver's license, increase in your insurance rates, and a criminal record. There are options. You do not have to plead guilty. Your case may have serious flaws or errors, and if so, we will create a strategy that could allow you to walk away without further consequences. Fill out our online form for a free case evaluation and a response from our office, or call us directly at (877) 378-6136.

Contact Jansen and Davis, P.A. to speak to a top DUI defender in Tallahassee.